Tags

, ,

People say that one of the must-sees when you’re in Paris is the Musée du Louvre. To be honest, I think it should only be a must-see if it is on YOUR must-see list. I was a frequent visitor on the TripAdvisor forum for a bit. It was an invaluable resource for my trip planning, especially last year. But what I’ve found on the forum were certain individuals who were hell-bent on making people see ‘their Paris’, or ‘their France’. I personally believe that your trip should be whatever you want it to be. If you are determined to cram as many museums as you physically can into your trip, go for it. Some people’s idea of a visit is to have their photo taken in front of a well-known landmark, and posting it on Facebook. If that is you, make the most of it. Some people, like my parents, prefer to let other people plan their trip for them. If you are limited with time and unable to do much research and planning yourself, this way of travel makes lots of sense.

I on the other hand, am a control freak. I like to do all the planning and research myself. Only because I know what I like and what I don’t like and I want my trip to be memorable in every way that is possible. Also, if I mess up, I will have no one else to blame but myself. 🙂

Anyway, back to Musée du Louvre. My parents have been to Paris twice but they have never visited the museum. Why? Because my mum sees the crowds of people queuing to get in at the glass pyramids and freaks out. There are ways to bypass the queues – buy the Paris Museum Pass or enter via Carrousel du Louvre. Hubby and I got there first thing in the morning before the crowds started coming in. So for the first hour or so, we didn’t have to battle the crowds (except at the Mona Lisa). Here are some photos of things that caught our interest.

View of the glass pyramid from underground in Carrousel du Louvre

View of the glass pyramid from underground in Carrousel du Louvre.

Winged victory of Samothrace

Winged victory of Samothrace.

The Wedding Feast at Cana by Veronese

The Wedding Feast at Cana by Veronese.

The famous Mona Lisa

The famous Mona Lisa hiding within a glass enclosure.

The Coronation of Napoleon by Jacques Louis David

The Coronation of Napoleon by Jacques Louis David.

Ceiling of the Rotunda of Apollo by Merry-Joseph Blondel

Ceiling of the Rotunda of Apollo by Merry-Joseph Blondel.

Lion and Serpent by Antoine-Louis Barye

Lion and Serpent by Antoine-Louis Barye.

Napoleon's sumptous and dazzlingly decorated apartments

Napoleon’s dazzling and sumptously decorated apartments.

We spent about 3 hours wandering around the museum. There was just so much to see it was sensory overload. Close to lunchtime, the crowds starting spilling in and some of the more popular exhibits became rather crowded and cramped. For those of you who are considering skipping the Louvre, I urge you to reconsider. Hubby and I are not what you’d call arty people, but we really enjoyed our visit. The vast amount of masterpieces and treasure accumulated all under one roof is mind-boggling and really needs to be seen to be believed.

