Tags

, , ,

Glenelg jetty. Photography by Kevin Tang 1975-2007

Adelaide – Glenelg jetty. Photography by Kevin Tang 1975-2007.

A big ‘Happy Mother’s Day’ to all mothers out there. It’s a cold, freezing and rainy Sunday morning in Melbourne, and it’s also Mother’s Day in Australia. What a week it has been!

I had a very nasty, unwelcomed attack by the SMART Data Recovery Virus on my computer on Tuesday evening. Somehow it slipped past the antivirus software and proceeded to wreak havoc on my system. I was freaking out because I had just put the finishing touches to my 35-page case study and hadn’t had a chance to back up my files and the virus was making it disappear from my computer. Two full days of scouring the internet for help and 3 new antivirus later, I finally managed to find the damn virus but was unable to remove the files. Finally I had to resort to manually removing the files with good old-fashioned MS DOS commands. Thankfully, I managed to recover the files for my case study exam. Still, I have a niggling feeling that I have not been able to remove everything completely as my computer is now doing some strange things. It’s looking like a reformat is inevitable… sigh…

On a more positive note, I stumbled on to the blog of the author of one of my favourite books on France. French Essence is the title of the book, and now the blog, by Vicki Archer. Vicki is an Australian woman who fell in love with the French way of life. Her family subsequently moved to London to be closer to an old, dilapidated farm house in Saint-Rémy-de-Provence which they bought and slowly restored to its former glory. Her books My French Life and French Essence are little treasure troves of beautiful photography on French styling and French living. I’m looking forward to discovering the town of Saint-Rémy-de-Provence during our trip later this year.

I’ve also downloaded a new free app for Paris by Andrew Harper. I haven’t had time to read through everything yet but it’s looking rather promising… In fact, I think I’ll spend the rest of the day reading through his recommendations. A nice warm cup of tea from Mariage Frères and I’m drifting away in a reverie… Je suis en train de rêver… de Paris…

